HBO Fan Fiction Forum Index HBO Fan Fiction
Forum for HBO Fan Fiction Related Stuff

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fic Pick of the Week (April 24)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    HBO Fan Fiction Forum Index -> Fan Fiction Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
CaptainRaspberry

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:30 pm    Post subject: Fic Pick of the Week (April 24) Reply with quote

Kinda nervous, I mean, this is my first time.

Innuendos aside, we had a whopping two entries this past week (one of which was technically already submitted). So let's get right to it.

Second Place: Halo/Terminator: Crossover Part I & II, by Michael Finn
Collectible Base: In this submission, there are unfortunately not a lot of positive notes to touch on. What can be said here is that at least it seems like Michael's read a few grammar textbooks. The story (now that it's correctly formatted) isn't punctuated with awful syntax, misplaced or missing periods, overused exclamation points, and comma whoring. Sentences are simple and, with notable exceptions, don't try to be too ornate (there are a few monster run-ons that seem like they'd be more at home in the NYC subway system than on this site). If nothing else, the author has a good grip of the english language.

Don't Hit the Wall: Unfortunately, there is precious little else that can be considered good. First off, it's a humongous wall of text. It's taken me days to plow through the whole thing. If this is two parts, why not split it up? There's no clear indication where one part begins or ends.